français



Blue-green Algae

The blue-green algae found in our watercourses are microscopic organisms that go by the scientific name of cyanobacteria. They are similar to bacteria, but share some of the features of algae. Where conditions are favourable, they are able to multiply and form blooms. These blooms are not flowers as such; they look more like paint spills, broccoli soup or a mixture of fine particles or very short fibres. They are visible to the naked eye and are usually green or blue-green, although they may sometimes have a reddish tint. The blooms produce toxins that can be harmful to human and animal health.

Proliferation of Blue-green Algae
Under some conditions, blue-green algae proliferate rapidly and form what is called a bloom. The name may seem somewhat poetic, but the phenomenon is actually quite unfortunate and bears no resemblance whatever to a flower! Algae blooms in fact, look more like a paint spill, or broccoli soup: a minute particle or very short strand slurry. Visible to the naked eye, they are often green or blue-green in colour, sometimes edging towards red. Near shorelines, blooms rise and amalgamate into surface scum and may emit an unpleasant odour. In addition to looking repulsive, algae blooms have the ability to produce toxins. The use that can be made of a body of water depends on the level of its contamination by these toxins.

The Causes
Blue-green algae proliferation can be triggered by a variety of factors such as elevated water temperature, weak current or water stagnation. However the main guilty party in this story is phosphorus.

Phosphorus is an element that is essential to life. It forms part of the basic building blocks of our nutrition, just as it does for animals, plants, algae and even … bacteria! We use phosphorous to fertilize our lawns and gardens and it is employed in agriculture to stimulate crop growth.

Phosphorus has a naturally occurring low presence in surface waters. However, many human activities can lead to higher P levels in aquatic environments. Excess phosphorus is found in domestic wastewater and drainage and runoff from deforested land orcultivated fields and shorelines that have been enriched with fertilizers, compost and solid or liquid manure. Eventually, the phosphorus finds its way into rivers and lakes. When present in excessive amounts it stimulates inordinate growth of certain organisms that are native to these bodies of water.

Some of these life forms are better than others at making use of this manna: this is the case for many aquatic plants and, unfortunately, for blue-green algae.

Recognize it, report it, prevent it

Learn to recognize it
Algae blooms may be difficult to distinguish from other aquatic phenomena. This is why the Ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement et des Parcs (MDDEP) has produced a helpful guide to identifying and preventing them. The guide is available from your regional MDDEP office http://www.mddelcc.gouv.qc.ca/eau/flrivlac/algues-en.htm

Report it!
Do you believe you have witnessed a blue-green algae bloom? Report it! Talk to your regional MDDEP office about what you saw. Has the bloom you noticed this morning already disappeared? Report it anyway, since blooms move around beneath the surface of the water and can reappear later on in the day or the next day.

If you wish to make your action even more efficient you can photograph the bloom and complete the Constat visuel de la présence d'une fleur d'eau form that is available on the MDDEP Website above

Prevention is the best remedy
It is not easy to overcome the phenomenon of blue-green algae proliferation, but the best way is to attack the source of the problem. Above all, we need to avoid an overabundance of phosphorus in our lakes and rivers and there exist simple and easily accessible ways achieve this goal. Here are a few:

  • Restore shoreline vegetation or avoid clearing it away, because shoreline vegetation retains soil that is potentially rich in phosphorus and uses this fertilizing element for growth.
  • Limit the use of chemical fertilisers, compost and manure on lawns.
  • Use phosphate-free soaps and cleaning products.
  • Ensure proper functioning and regulatory compliance of septic tanks.

Preventing phosphorus overload in surface water and upstream watersheds remains the best way of countering blue-green algae proliferation. This preventive action requires collective efforts on the part of citizens, enterpises and municipal and provincial government authorities.

Who does what?
The MDDEP confirms the presence of algae blooms in affected lakes and rivers, takes samples and analyzes them. It also informs public health authorities (DSP), which then issue health advisories as necessary. These advisories allow for timely communication of specific recommendations for the affected bodies of water with respect to limits on water consumption.

The ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS), for its part, makes general recommendations on drinking water, swimming and other aquatic and nautical activities available on its Web site at www.msss.gouv.qc.ca.

For more information about blue-green algae:

Telephone

Québec City region: 418 644-4545
Montréal region: 514 644-4545
Elsewhere in Québec: 1 877 644-4545 (toll-free)

Internet

www.gouv.qc.ca




Website Management Services by GRA Web Design

English



Les algues bleu-vert

Les algues bleu-vert, dont le terme scientifique est cyanobactéries, ne sont pas l’oeuvre de l’être humain. C’est plutôt l’inverse qui est vrai : l’être humain existe grâce aux algues bleu-vert! En effet, il y a de cela bien longtemps, les algues bleu-vert ont participé à l’expansion de la vie sur terre en produisant de l’oxygène. Aujourd’hui, elles continuent de peupler les plans naturels d’eaux douces et marines. Elles s’apparentent davantage à des bactéries, mais partagent aussi des caractéristiques communes avec les algues.

La prolifération des algues bleu-vert
Dans certaines conditions, les algues bleuvert prolifèrent rapidement et forment ce qu’on appelle une fleur d’eau. Voilà un nom bien poétique pour un phénomène plutôt malencontreux! Ne ressemblant en rien à une fleur, elles ont plutôt l’aspect d’un déversement de peinture, d’un potage au brocoli ou d’un mélange de fines particules ou de filaments très courts. Visibles à l’oeil nu, elles sont souvent de couleur verte ou bleu-vert, mais tirent parfois sur le rouge. Près du rivage, les fleurs d’eau s’accumulent sous forme d’écume. Il arrive meme qu’elles sentent mauvais. Outre leur aspect rébarbatif, les fleurs d’eau ont la caractéristique de pouvoir produire des toxines. L’usage qu’on pourra faire d’un plan d’eau dépendra de l’importance de la contamination par ces toxines.

Les causes
Une prolifération d’algues bleu-vert peut être déclenchée par divers facteurs, comme la température élevée de l’eau, le faible courant ou la stagnation de l’eau. Toutefois, le principal coupable est le phosphore.

Au départ, il faut savoir que le phosphore est un élément essentiel à la vie. Il fait partie des éléments de base de notre alimentation comme de celle des animaux,des plantes, des algues et même… des bactéries! Nous l’utilisons pour fertiliser nos pelouses et enrichir nos jardins. Il est employé en agriculture pour stimuler la croissance des végétaux.

Le phosphore est naturellement peu abondant dans les eaux de surface. Les activités humaines contribuent toutefois à augmenter sa présence dans les milieu aquatiques. Les surplus de phosphore se retrouvent dans les eaux usées domestiques ou encore, dans les eaux de ruissellement et de drainage qui s’écoulent des zones déboisées, des champs et des terrains riverains enrichis par les engrais, le compost, les fumiers et les lisiers. Finalement, le phosphore aboutit dans les cours d’eau etles lacs. Lorsqu’il s’y trouve en trop grande quantité, il stimule une croissance excessive d’organismes qui y vivent.

Certains d’entre eux profiteront de la manne plus que d’autres : c’est le cas de diverses plantes aquatiques et, malheureusement, des algues

Identifier,signaler et prévenir

Apprenez à les reconnaître
Les fleurs d’eau peuvent être difficiles à distinguer d’autres phénomènes aquatiques. C’est pourquoi le ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs (MDDEP) a produit un guide d’identification, disponible au bureau du Ministère situé dans votre région ou encore, à cette adresse Internet : www.mddep.gouv.qc.ca

Signalez-les !
Vous pensez avoir vu une prolifération d’algues bleu-vert? Signalez-la! Communiquez, à cette fin, avec le bureau du MDDEP situé dans votre région. La fleur d’eau que vous avez vue ce matin est déjà disparue? Signalez-la tout de même : elle peut se déplacer sous l’eau et réapparaître plus tard dans la journée ou le lendemain.

Pour rendre votre intervention encore plus efficace, vous pouvez photographier la fleur d’eau et remplir le formulaire Constat visuel de la présence d’une fleur d’eau, disponible dans le site Internet du MDDEP, à l’adresse suivante www.mddep.gouv.qc.ca

La prévention demeure le meilleur remède
Contrer le phénomène de la prolifération des algues bleu-vert n’est pas facile. La meilleure façon est d’agir directement à la source du problème. On doit avant tout éviter d’envoyer trop de phosphore dans les plans d’eau. Il existe pour cela des moyens simples, à la portée de tous. En voici quelques-uns :

  • Restaurer la végétation des rives, ou éviter de les défricher, car les végétaux en bordure des plans d’eau retiennent les sols qui peuvent être riches en phosphore et utilisent cet élément fertilisant pour leur croissance.
  • Limiter l’emploi d’engrais chimiques, de compost ou de fumier sur la pelouse.
  • Utiliser des savons et des produits nettoyants sans phosphate.
  • Veiller à la conformité et au bon fonctionnement de son installation septique.

Empêcher les surcharges de phosphore dans le plan d’eau et en amont dans le bassin versant : voilà la meilleure arme contre la prolifération des algues bleu-vert. Cette action préventive exige un effort collectif, tant de la part des citoyens que des acteurs économiques et des autorités municipales et gouvernementales.

Qui fait quoi?
Le MDDEP confirme la présence de fleurs d’eau dans les lacs et les cours d’eau concernés, prélève les échantillons et les analyses. Il en informe les directions de la santé publique (DSP) qui, s’il y a lieu, émettent des avis de santé. Ces avis permettent de communiquer rapidement des recommandations spécifiques aux plans d’eau touchés sur les limites ’utilisation de l’eau.

Le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS), quant à lui, rend disponible sur son site Internet des recommandations générales pour l’utilisation de l’eau potable, pour la aignade et les autres activités aquatiques et nautiques à l’adresse : www.msss.gouv.qc.ca.

Pour tout renseignement sur les algues bleu-vert :

Téléphone :


Région de Québec : 418 644-4545
Région de Montréal : 514 644-4545
Ailleurs au Québec :
1 877 644-4545 (sans frais)


Internet :

www.gouv.qc.ca




Website Management Services by GRA Web Design
Services de gestion du site Internet par GRA Web Design