français



Fecal Coliform

Total coliform bacteria are a collection of relatively harmless microorganisms that live in large numbers in the intestines of man and warm- and cold-blooded animals. They aid in the digestion of food.

scf

The presence of fecal coliform bacteria in aquatic environments indicates that the water has been contaminated with the fecal material of man or other animals. The presence of fecal contamination is an indicator that a potential health risk exists for individuals exposed to this water.

Fecal coliform bacteria may occur in ambient water as a result of the overflow of domestic sewage or nonpoint sources of human and animal waste.

If a large number of fecal coliform bacteria (over 200 colonies/100 milliliters (ml) of water sample) are found in water, it is possible that disease- or illness-causing organisms are also present in the water. Swimming in waters with high levels of fecal coliform bacteria increases the chance of developing illness from pathogens entering the body through the mouth, nose, ears, or cuts in the skin. Diseases and illnesses that can be contracted in water with high fecal coliform counts include typhoid fever, hepatitis, gastroenteritis, dysentery and ear infections




Website Management Services by GRA Web Design

English



Coliformes fécaux

Les coliformes fécaux sont une collection de microorganismes relativement inoffensifs qui habitent en grands nombres dans les intestins d'hommes et d'animaux. Ils aident dans la digestion de nourriture.

La présence de coliformes fécaux dans les environnements aquatiques indique que l'eau a été contaminée avec le matériel fécal d'hommes ou d'autres animaux. La présence de contamination fécale est un indicateur qu'un risque de santé potentiel existe pour les individus exposés à cette eau.

Les coliformes fécaux peuvent arriver dans l'eau ambiante à la suite du surplus de vidanges domestiques, des sources de nonpoint d'humain et du gaspillage animal.

scf

Si plusieurs coliformes fécaux (au dessus 200 colonies/100 millilitres (ml) d'échantillon d'eau) sont trouvés dans l'eau, c'est possible que des organismes qui causent des maladies sont aussi présents. La natation dans les eaux avec les niveaux supérieurs de coliformes fécaux augmente le risque de maladie des pathogènes entrant le corps par la bouche, le nez, les oreilles, ou les coupures dans la peau. Les maladies qui peuvent être contractées dans l'eau avec les hauts comptes coliformes fécaux incluent la fièvre de typhoïde, l'hépatite, la gastroentérite, les infections de dysenterie et oreille.




Website Management Services by GRA Web Design
Services de gestion du site Internet par GRA Web Design