français



The Littoral Zone

The littoral zone extends towards the centre of the lake, from the natural high-water mark to the point where aquatic vegetation disappears. This zone with relatively shallow water nurtures a diversity of flora and wildlife.

The plants in the littoral zone are essential to the life of the lake. These absorb various dissolved substances in the water to fabricate organic matter which serves as nourishment to aquatic animals. They also protect aquatic wildlife from light, heat and natural enemies while housing a diversity of living entities. Without aquatic plants, fish would be deprived of a large portion of their food. Aquatic plants also mitigate the effect of waves and as such contribute to protecting the shoreline from erosion.

The littoral zone is the most diversified and nutrient-rich zone of any lake. It is home to most of the plant and animal life that resides in the lake. These life forms contribute to the system's ecology. If we disturb this equilibrium, we are endangering the very life of our lake.

In order to prevent the degradation of our lake, it is essential to protect the integrity of the littoral zone. We need to ensure the free flow of water under our docks. As soon as an obstacle to the free flow of water in the littoral zone is created, a large number of degradation symptoms appear in the immediate area. The rate of accumulation of sediments increases rapidly, nutrition elements accumulate and the littoral zone is progressively invaded by aquatic plants and algae.




Website Management Services by GRA Web Design

English



Le littoral s'étend vers l'intérieur du plan d'eau, de la ligne naturelle des hautes eaux, jusqu'à l'endroit où la végétation aquatique disparaît. Cette zone où les eaux sont peu profondes possède une faune et une flore très variées.

Les plantes du littoral sont essentielles à la vie des plans d'eau. Elles absorbent les substances dissoutes dans l'eau pour fabriquer de la matière organique qui sert de nourriture aux animaux aquatiques. Elles protègent également la faune aquatique contre la lumière, la chaleur et les ennemis naturels, tout en hébergeant une foule d'êtres vivants. Sans les plantes aquatiques, les poissons seraient privés d'une bonne partie de leur nourriture. Il faut ajouter que les plantes freinent l'action des vagues et contribuent ainsi à protéger les rives contre l'érosion.

Le littoral est la zone la plus riche et la plus diversifiée d'un plan d'eau. Il héberge la plus grande partie des plantes et des animaux qui vivent dans un lac. Toute cette vie forme un système écologique. Si on perturbe l'équilibre de ce système, c'est la vie même du lac que l'on met en danger.

Pour prévenir la dégradation des plans d'eau, il est essentiel de protéger l'intégrité du littoral. Pour ce faire, il faut assurer la libre circulation de l'eau du lac sous les aménagements tels que les débarcadères et les abris à bateau. Dès qu'un obstacle empêche l'eau du littoral de circuler librement, de nombreux symptômes de dégradation apparaissent dans le voisinage immédiat. Le taux de sédimentation augmente rapidement, les éléments nutritifs s'accumulent et le littoral est progressivement envahi par les plantes aquatiques et les algues.




Website Management Services by GRA Web Design
Services de gestion du site Internet par GRA Web Design